Follow

How do I use iCloud to sync progress back and forth between two devices? (Alphabear, iOS devices only)

Intent

You should follow these directions if you want two of your iOS devices to share a single Alphabear state. E.g., if you play on your iPad when at home, but play on iPhone when away from home, and want progress made on your iPhone to be reflected on your iPad and vice versa.

If you don't have two devices you need to sync your progress between, follow the directions on this page instead.

Requirements

  • *Both devices* must have Alphabear version 01.08.00i or higher. This page shows how you can check.
    • It is advised that you keep the Alphabear versions on both devices the same. There has occasionally been loss of progress when, for example, people transferred a save from version 1.6 to version 1.5--version 1.6 contained some new bears that version1.5 was not aware of, and so version 1.5 deleted these unrecognized new bears from the save file.
  • *Both devices* must be running iOS 8 or greater.
    • iOS 7 is sufficient to use cloud save, but not for transferring progress in this manner.
  • *Both devices* must have iCloud Drive enabled for Alphabear. Look in your Settings app for iCloud >> iCloud Drive >> Alphabear -- this might be at the very top level or in a submenu. Make sure that it's enabled at all of these levels. You might have to upgrade your iCloud to iCloud Drive if you have never done so before.
    AB_iCloudSaveIos8Settings.jpg
  • *Both devices* must be signed in to the same iCloud account.
    AB_iCloudAccount.jpg
  • *Both devices* must be signed in to the same Game Center account. You can sign into your Game Center account by going to your Settings app and looking for Game Center. Enter your Apple ID and Password, then click the button that says Sign In.

First-time Setup

  1. If you've already been playing Alphabear on two unsynced devices, decide which device's Alphabear progress you want to keep and which you will discard.
    • From now on your devices will share a single game state. We want you to decide now which state that will be. The app is not smart enough to combine your bear collections / coins / etc. into a composite state; you will have to choose one device's state or the other.
  2. Delete the Alphabear app from the device whose progress you are choosing to discard.
  3. On the device whose progress you want to keep, if you've never enabled cloud save before on this device then follow the directions on this page until cloud save is enabled. After you've finished, put this device to sleep for now.
  4. Install Alphabear onto the device from which you deleted it in Step 2. Then, confirm that all the settings listed in the Requirements section above are correct for this device.
  5. Launch the newly installed Alphabear. It should put you onto the tutorial screen.
  6. Click the Load button. Do this relatively quickly--if you sit on this screen for longer than you've played on the other device, this device's data will overwrite what the other device saved to the cloud.
    AB_SyncingTwoIosDevices_1.jpg
  7. Wait while the game connects to iCloud Drive and Game Center and looks for your cloud save.
    AB_SyncingTwoIosDevices_2.jpg
  8. You'll probably get a "Welcome back" message from Game Center which will go away after a few seconds. It's okay if you don't get the "Welcome back" message; you're really looking for the next screen.
    AB_SyncingTwoIosDevices_3.jpg
  9. When you see this screen, click the button to load your cloud save.
    AB_SyncingTwoIosDevices_4.jpg
  10. Wait while the game loads your cloud save.
    AB_SyncingTwoIosDevices_5.jpg
  11. Done! The state from your other device has now been transferred to this device.
    AB_SyncingTwoIosDevices_6.jpg

From this point forward

Simply play the game as normal. When you switch devices after having progressed forward on one device, the game should identify the switch and pop up the following screen:

AB_SyncingTwoIosDevices_4.jpg

Click Ok to import the progress from the other device, then keep playing!

Notes

  • It is advised that you keep the Alphabear versions on both devices the same. There has occasionally been loss of progress when, for example, people transferred a save from version 1.6 to version 1.5--version 1.6 contained some new bears that version 1.5 was not aware of, and so version 1.5 deleted these unrecognized new bears from the save file.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk